Your Committee

Mark Hetherington– President

Mark joined Abbey Runners a long time ago, and has been on the committee for too many years. He is a Level 2 UKS Endurance coach and leads the Thursday evening speed sessions

Simon Jones – Treasurer

Simon has been a member of the club since 2015 and has massively enjoyed running with a very friendly group of people. His favourite kinds of runs are trail, XC and fell runs

Jasmine Salih- Ladies CaptainJasmine joined Abbey in 2007 and was elected onto the committee in 2015. Joining Abbey has broadened her running experience to include cross country, trail races, marathons and she has even tried fell. She also competes in triathlons. She loves encouraging people who are new to running and is usually at the club on a Tuesday night.
Duncan Clark- Mens CaptainDuncan joined the club in 1984 and has been on the committee on and off since then in different posts.He is an experienced Men’s Captain, organising the team selection for the club relays and cross country. Duncan also organises the ‘Christmas Lights Run’ and helps to keep the club records up to date.Duncan leads the faster group on Club Run nights and helps with Abbey Juniors.
Martin Jones- Club Grand Prix Race Series

Martin joined the club in July 2012 after been spotted out on a training run wearing an Eccup 2012 shirt and was encouraged to join by a group of Abbey Runners out for their Tuesday night run!
 He was elected on to the committee in November 2014 and since 2016 has also been responsible for organising and managing the clubs annual Grand Prix race series.
Jim Whittaker– Communications Secretary

Jim joined the club in 2007 and was elected onto the committee in 2011. He likes to race everything from parkruns, XCs to marathons and, well. basically, just loves to run! Jim can generally be seen at the club most Tuesday and Thursday nights. (and loves the Abbey cafe!)

Graeme Littlewood– Secretary

Graeme joined the club in 2015 and has found it to be friendly and supporting with a great group of people who go out of their way to make everyone welcome. He was elected to the committee in 2016.

Liz Willis- Social secretary

Liz has been a member of Abbey Runners since 2005 and enjoys the social side that the club offers, as well as running! Liz’s favourite races are the relays, especially Washburn Valley in July.

John Ward – Membership secretary

John joined the club in 2002 and returns to the committee in a new role.
Loves XC running and looks after the PecoXC web site.
Alex Kilcoyne – Ordinary Member

Alex joined the club in late 2015 and signed up on her first night, both for the club and to compete in the PECO XC races! In 2017 Alex was elected onto the committee

Sunny Cheema – Ordinary Member

Sunny joined the Abbey Runners in 2015 and found the club to be the most supportive, fun and best club, ever. He enjoys the great atmosphere of Tues social runs and the fantastic speed sessions on Thursday nights. Since joining he’s been introduced to trail, cross country and track running and taken part in tonnes of brilliant races. His general fitness and racing times have dropped from a 55min 10k to a 39min 10k and owes it to the club. His main highlight of the running season is competing in the PECO XC Winter League which he’ll probably go on to win some day.

Laura Beesley – Ordinary Member

Laura joined Abbey Runners in January 2017. Hoping for more involvement in the club and its amazing races, Laura joined the committee in the November. Since joining Abbey Runners, Laura’s running distance and time has improved. She was awarded Runner of the Month in the September for a 5k PB (22:42). She is currently training for Brighton Marathon and raising money for Macular Society.’