New committee

Following last night’s AGM, there are some changes to the Club Committee for 2013-14.

Alex Grant stood down after 10 years on the committee first as Club Captain and then in the last two years as President.  Alex has done and continues to do an enormous amount for the club.  As a Race Director, he took over and grew both the Eccup 10 and the Abbey Dash, and as President he succeeded Colin Morath when ill-health prevented Colin continuing in the role.  We are all very grateful for the time and commitment Alex has put into Abbey Runners, but there is no doubt that he is due a break from committee duties!

As a result of Alex’s decision to step down, there has been a bit of change.  First, a big welcome to Greg Wetherhead, who is to be the new Mens’ Captain. Second, Andy Wicks has moved over from Men’s Captain to take over as Communications and Marketing Secretary.  And finally, Martin Browne is the new Club President.

The committee contact pages will be updated shortly to reflect the changes.


Tuesday 6th Nov 8.00 for the Abbey Runners AGM

Club run (for this night only) at 7.00pm

Committee Positions listed below will be elected on the night.
All positions are available for nomination – please ask the person you wish to nominate first.
Abbey Runners Club Constitution…click here

  • President
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Men’s Captain
  • Ladies’ Captain
  • Club Coach
  • Fell Running Secretary
  • Vets’ Secretary
  • Membership Secretary
  • Social Secretary
  • Communications Secretary
  • Website Administrator